top of page
  • Writer's pictureGeorge Jefferson

Writing-Quarter 1: Focus Standards

4.W.2.Ca-e : Write fiction or nonfiction narratives and poems that

a. establish a setting and situation /topic and introduce a narrator and /or characters.

b. Use narrative techniques, such as dialogue, motivation, and descriptions

c. organize an even sequence that unfolds naturally to establish a beginning/middle/end

d. use a variety of transitions to manage the sequence of events

e.Use specific, relevant and accurate words that are suited to the topic, audience and purpose.

-I can use descriptive words to describe a setting

- I can introduce characters and settings that connect the plot

-I can include character descriptions and motivations in my story.

- I can organize events in an order that readers can follow.

-I can use transitions to show time changes

-I can use strong academic language to add variety and depth to my readers.


4.W.1. C: -

Reread, revise and edit drafts with assistance to:

  1. Develop and strengthen writing by revising

  2. Edit for language conventions.

  • I can look to small moments from my life to inspire my story

  • I can annotate my rough draft with details that can improve my story.

  • I can edit my writing for complete sentences

SL.A.1 Develop and apply effective listening skills and strategies in formal and informal settings by:

  1. following, generating, and justifying classroom listening rules

  2. posing and responding to specific questions to clarify or follow up on information, making comments that contribute to the discussion, and linking to the remarks of others

  3. following and restating multi-step instructions that involve a short related sequence of actions, according to classroom expectations

  • I can follow directions while working in my community.

  • I can listen and respond to the ideas of my peers.

  • I can respectfully show that I agree or disagree with my peers.

  • I can model fluent reading by reading with expression

4 views0 comments
bottom of page